A Word From The Director

Video presentation
Vidéo PRésentation du LEMTA

A multidisciplinary mission to serve Engineering Sciences

The LEMTA (Laboratory of Energetics, Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, UMR 7563) is a joint University of Lorraine and CNRS research unit working in the fields of Mechanics and Energy. It is one of the 5 laboratories of the "Fédération Jacques Villermaux pour la Mécanique, l'Énergie et les Procédés".

The laboratory's research activities are centred around fluid mechanics, energy, heat transfers and the mechanics of solids and structures. The Laboratory hosts three research departments (Reacting, Multiphase Fluid Media, Mechanics of Materials and Structures, Energy and Transfers) working on adding to knowledge in the field of Engineering Sciences. This research work is carried out by nearly 80 researchers and teacher-researchers, 25 administrative and technical staff in different research support departments (accounting & administration, mechanical design and construction, electronics & instrumentation, computing & calculations) and 65 doctoral and post-doctoral collaborators.

A balance between basic and applied research responding to the major challenges of the 21st century

The LEMTA's activities are well-balanced between basic and targeted research with the aim of responding to the main concerns of 21st century society by:

  • Making a significant research effort with a view to finding clean and efficient energy to ensure an effective energy transition.

One of the LEMTA's main objectives is to create and implement knowledge and basic concepts required for energy production and transformation systems which allow energy to be used effectively. To achieve this, the LEMTA is involved in the following fields: the thermal characterization of materials (at high temperatures for processes requiring high heat loads and at ambient temperature for insulating and super-insulating materials), the hydrogen-energy sector (underground storage, proton exchange membrane fuel cells), enhanced oil and gas recovery, heat transfer at nano-scales applied to thermoelectric conversion, thermodynamic systems, effective spray cooling of surfaces, the evaporation of liquid fuels, using porous media for the confinement of long-life nuclear waste, surface geothermy for heat storage, the enhancement of heat exchanges,...

  • Responding to major societal and environmental concerns

The LEMTA also contributes to the creation of scientific knowledge which is essential to respond to the major societal and environmental challenges. The first such area is the field of tissue engineering, the aim of which is to develop transplantable bio-substitutes for ligaments, cartilages or other human tissues. This is perhaps a perfect example of a multi-disciplinary field, requiring as it does a high level of synergy between several specialists in Nancy working in such varied fields as cell biology, polymers, cell culture, biomechanical modelling and experimentation or clinical research. Another of the LEMTA's recognized areas of research is the study of fire propagation (in both buildings and with regard to hydrogen storage) and more particularly forest fires. This work combines modelling, numerical simulation and experimentation on a brand new intermediate-scale testing platform.

  • Understanding the behaviour of complex materials (solids or fluids) in processes and systems

Understanding the behaviour (particularly mechanical) of complex materials in industrial processes and systems is also a subject of major importance. In the area of solid materials, the LEMTA carries out research into the mechanics and thermomechanics of solid polymers and into the mechanics of adaptive materials (shape memory, ferroelectric and piezoelectric alloys) with applications particularly ranging from the heat recovery at low temperature heat to mechanical processes and shaping techniques for complex materials. For fluid materials, the laboratory's research concerns complex fluid physics and mechanics. These fluids have nano-scale structures and are used in many industrial and natural processes as well as in people's daily lives. The study thereof is therefore of prime importance and has applications in the field of geophysics, transformation processes for food products, oil industry engineering or paper manufacturing. The LEMTA's activities in this area cover research into the link between nanostructures and mechanical properties in flows and/or under constraints, modelling dynamics and numerical simulation of these fluids in flows.

State-of-the art equipment to serve research

Work in all of these subject areas is carried out using top-level technological platforms and by developing particularly innovative measurement techniques. For example, our platform for magnetic resonance imagery (MRI) - a technique more commonly used in the medical field - is used for the quantitative analysis of flows in opaque media like porous media or complex flows in confined media. A definite strong point of the Laboratory is our use of sophisticated non-intrusive commercial techniques (particle image velocimetry, infrared thermography, laser velocimetry) or those developed at the Laboratory (laser-induced fluorescence, rheo-optics, light diffusion, multispectral thermography for use at high temperatures). There are nine technological platforms with which the Laboratory can structure top-level experimental means (thermal characterization of materials, radiative transfers, rheometry, fluid metrology, fires propagation, NMR/MRI, soil mechanics, fuel cells). Also a computation cluster shared with other laboratories in the Lorraine region are used to boost our intensive calculation resources.

A laboratory open to industrial and international cooperation projects

The LEMTA collaborates with many institutional partners, research centres and with industry. Among the main institutional partners are the ONERA (French Aerospace Research Centre), the CEA (Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies Commission), the CSTB (Scientific and Technical Centre for Building) and the INRS (the Institute for Research and Security with whom we share two joint research themes). The LEMTA also participates in or coordinates many programmes run by the National Research Agency (ANR) and collaborates with major industrial companies like ArcelorMittal, Air Liquide, Areva-Energy storage, EDF, Airbus, Schlumberger, Total, General Electric, Schneider Electric, Saint-Gobain, Valeo, Vallourec or Dantec Dynamics.

The Laboratory is open to working internationally and is involved in many partnerships with European or world-level laboratories including two joint programmes with the European Energy Research Alliance (EERA). The first involves advanced materials and processes for energy application (AMPEA) and the other concerns fuel cells and hydrogen. Finally the Laboratory made a significant contribution to founding the Franco-Kazakh Centre for Geo-energies.

Fabrice Lemoine, Director of LEMTA

Le Mot du Directeur

Vidéo de présentation
Vidéo PRésentation du LEMTA

Une vocation pluridisciplinaire au service des Sciences pour l'Ingénieur

Unité Mixte de Recherche de l'Université de Lorraine et du CNRS, le LEMTA (Laboratoire d'Energétique et de Mécanique Théorique et Appliquée, UMR 7563), concentre ses recherches autour de la Mécanique et de l'Energie et compte parmi les 5 laboratoires de la Fédération de Recherche Jacques Villermaux pour la Mécanique, l'Energie et les Procédés. Les activités de recherche s'articulent autour de la mécanique des fluides, de l'énergie, des transferts thermiques et de la mécanique du solide et des structures. Organisé en trois groupes de recherche (Milieux fluides, réactifs, multiphasiques ; Mécanique des matériaux et structures ; Energie et transferts) le Laboratoire contribue à créer des connaissances nouvelles dans le domaine des sciences pour l'ingénieur. Ces recherches sont mises en œuvre par près de 80 chercheurs et enseignants-chercheurs, 25 personnels administratifs et techniques répartis dans des services communs d'appui à la recherche (finances & administration, mécanique, électronique & instrumentation, informatique & calcul), 65 doctorants et post-doctorants.

Un équilibre entre recherche fondamentale et recherche finalisée au service des grands défis du 21ème siècle

Les activités du LEMTA sont assez équilibrées entre recherche fondamentale et recherche finalisée et ont vocation à répondre aux grandes préoccupations du 21ème siècle :

  • Consacrer un effort de recherche significatif afin de proposer une énergie propre et efficace pour assurer la transition énergétique

Créer et mobiliser les connaissances et concepts de base nécessaires aux systèmes de production et de transformation de l'énergie, tout en permettant son utilisation efficace, est l'un des objectifs majeurs du LEMTA. Le LEMTA s'investit ainsi dans les domaines suivants : la caractérisation thermique des matériaux (à haute température pour les procédés chauds et à température ambiante pour les matériaux isolants et super-isolants), la filière énergie-hydrogène (stockage souterrain, piles à combustible à membrane), la récupération assistée du pétrole et du gaz, les transferts thermiques aux nano-échelles appliqués à la conversion thermoélectrique, les systèmes thermodynamiques, le refroidissement efficace des surfaces par spray, l'évaporation des combustibles liquides, les milieux poreux pour le confinement des déchets nucléaires à longue vie, la géothermie de surface, l'amélioration des échanges thermiques, ...

  • Répondre à des préoccupations sociétales et environnementales majeures

Le LEMTA contribue également à la création des connaissances scientifiques indispensables pour répondre à de grands défis sociétaux ou environnementaux. Tout d'abord, l'ingénierie tissulaire a pour objectif le développement de bio substituts implantables du ligament ou encore du cartilage ou d'autres tissus du corps humain. Il s'agit là d'un domaine pluridisciplinaire par excellence, nécessitant une forte synergie entre plusieurs acteurs nancéens aux spécialités diverses (biologie cellulaire, polymères, culture cellulaire, modélisation et expérimentation biomécanique, recherche clinique). Sur un autre volet, l'étude de la propagation des incendies (dans les bâtiments, mais aussi en lien avec les problèmes de stockage de combustible) et plus particulièrement, des incendies de forêt, fait également partie des activités reconnues du LEMTA, combinant modélisation, simulation numérique et expérimentation sur une toute nouvelle plate-forme d'essais à une échelle intermédiaire.

  • Comprendre le comportement des matériaux complexes (solides ou fluides) dans les procédés et les systèmes

La compréhension du comportement (mécanique en particulier) des matériaux complexes dans les procédés industriels et les systèmes est également un enjeu majeur. En ce qui concerne les matériaux solides, le LEMTA développe des recherches dans le domaine  de la mécanique et la thermomécanique des polymères solides, de la mécanique des matériaux adaptatifs (alliages à mémoire de forme, ferroélectriques, piézoélectriques), avec notamment des applications à la récupération de l'énergie thermique à basse température, à des techniques de fabrication mécanique et de mise en forme des matériaux complexes. Pour les matériaux fluides, les recherches concernant la physique et la mécanique de fluides complexes sont très actives : structurés à la nano-échelle, ces fluides interviennent dans de nombreux procédés industriels, processus naturels et sont utilisés dans la vie quotidienne. Leur étude est donc de première importance avec des applications dans le domaine de la géophysique, des procédés de transformation des produits alimentaires, du génie pétrolier ou de la fabrication du papier. Les activités du LEMTA couvrent la recherche du lien entre la nanostructure et les propriétés mécaniques sous écoulement et/ou contraintes, la modélisation de la dynamique et simulation numérique de ces fluides en écoulement.

Des équipements de pointes au service de la recherche

L'ensemble de ces thématiques s'appuie sur des plates-formes technologiques de premier plan et le développement de techniques de mesure particulièrement innovantes. Par exemple, la plate-forme d'imagerie par résonnance magnétique nucléaire (IRM), technique traditionnellement utilisée dans le domaine médical, est exploitée pour l'analyse quantitative d'écoulements en milieux opaques, comme les milieux poreux ou les écoulements complexes en milieu confiné. L'utilisation de techniques non-intrusives sophistiquées commerciales (PIV, thermographie infrarouge, vélocimétrie laser) ou développées au Laboratoire (fluorescence induite par laser, rhéo-optique, diffusion de la lumière, thermographie multispectrale pour les hautes températures) constituent résolument un point fort du Laboratoire. Neuf plates-formes technologiques permettent de structurer les moyens expérimentaux de premier plan du Laboratoire (caractérisation thermique des matériaux, transferts radiatifs, rhéométrie, métrologie fluide, feux et incendies, RMN/IRM, mécanique des sols, caractérisation mécanique, pile à combustible). Par ailleurs, l'utilisation de clusters, partagés avec d'autres laboratoires lorrains, permet de conforter les moyens en calcul intensif.

Un laboratoire ouvert aux coopérations avec le monde industriel et à l'international

Le LEMTA collabore avec de nombreux partenaires institutionnels, centres de recherche et industriels. Parmi ses partenaires institutionnels privilégiés, on peut citer l'ONERA, le CEA, le CSTB, l'INRS (avec ce dernier établissement nous partageons deux thématiques mixtes de recherche). Le LEMTA participe ou coordonne de nombreux programmes de l'Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR) et collabore avec de grands noms de l'industrie : ArcelorMittal, AIR LIQUIDE, AREVA-Hydrogène, EDF, AIRBUS, Schlumberger, TOTAL General Electric, Schneider Electric, SAINT-GOBAIN, Valeo, Vallourec ou encore DANTEC DYNAMICS, ...

Ouvert sur le plan international, le Laboratoire est impliqué dans de nombreuses coopérations avec des laboratoires européens ou mondiaux, Le LEMTA est actif dans deux programmes conjoints de l'Alliance Européenne sur la Recherche en Energie (EERA), l'un concernant les matériaux et procédés pour les applications à l'énergie (AMPEA), l'autre sur les piles à combustible et l'hydrogène. En outre, le Laboratoire a très fortement contribué à la fondation du Centre Franco-Kazakhstanais de Géo-énergies.

Fabrice Lemoine, Directeur du LEMTA